Connexion
Citizen Participation (Participation citoyenne)

Pierre André, Professor, Université de Montréal
pierre.andre@umontreal.ca
With the collaboration of Patricia Martin and Georges Lanmafankpotin

Citizen participation may be defined as a process in which ordinary people take part – whether on a voluntary or obligatory basis and whether acting alone or as part of a group – with the goal of influencing a decision involving significant choices that will affect their community. Such participation may or may not take place within an institutional framework, and it may be organized either by members of civil society (for example, through class action, demonstrations citizens' committees, etc.) or by decision makers (for example, through referendums, parliamentary commissions and mediation, etc.).

This brief definition covers the diverse contexts in which ordinary people may participate. The mechanisms of obligatory institutionalized participation are defined by law, and citizens must take part in them or risk a penalty, generally in the form of fines or imprisonment. This is the case, for example, under a number of jurisdictions when it comes to elections, referendums, censuses and court summons. The mechanisms of voluntary institutionalized participation are defined by law or by an administration: they invite people to take part in a given process but do not oblige them to do so. Such mechanisms are exemplified by parliamentary commissions, public discussions, commissions of inquiry and public hearings. Finally, the mechanisms of non-institutionalized participation take less rigid forms and involve individuals acting on their own or as part of an organized group or spontaneous gathering. Examples include participation in a citizens' committee, an interest group or a demonstration.

As used today, the word “participation” has the general sense of being involved or associated with others in some activity. According to Webster's Third New International Dictionary, the word derives from the Middle English participacioun, which first appeared in the 14th century as the equivalent of the Late Latin participatio, a substantive related to the Latin verb participare, meaning to share. The Oxford English Dictionary gives the earliest meaning as the sharing of the substance, quality or nature of some thing or person. By the 17th century, the word “participation” was being used to mean a taking part, association or sharing with others in some action or matter. Its modern sense of “the action or state of taking part with others in an activity” was clearly present in a speech given in 1858 by British parliamentary reformer John Bright, who proclaimed, “I am afraid to say how many persons… are by the present constitution of this country shut out from any participation in political power” (Speeches on Questions of Public Policy by John Bright, quoted in the Compact Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary, 1971).

It might be asked which citizens are referred to in the term citizen participation. The concept appeared in the U.S.A. in the 1950s and 1960s in the context of urban renewal and anti-poverty programs.[1] Cunningham (1972) felt that citizen participation was defined by three essential elements: 1) ordinary people, or common amateurs[2] – that is, members of a community who have no formal source of power except for their numbers; 2) the exercise of power by these people, who lead their community to think and act as they do; 3) decisions involving significant and substantial choices related to the affairs of the community.[3] More recently, Hardina (2008) has defined citizen participation as the process whereby those with the least resources – people on the margins of society – are involved in decisions about the services they receive on the part of those that represent them, namely, the government and not-for-profit organizations. Hardina emphasizes the benefits that result when these groups of people react to their economic and social oppression by taking local control of decisions affecting them. Those referred to in the term citizen participation are thus specifically ordinary people, whose sources of power are limited.

In practice, however, the concept of citizen participation takes on a number of connotations that distance it from the defining characteristics given by Cunningham and Hardina. Several other authors hold that citizen participation has various senses that can be classified according to the degree to which citizens are involved in the decision-making process, the direction of information flow between participants or the status of those who have taken the initiative. An example of a typology based on citizen involvement is the now classic model developed by Arnstein (1969). She proposed a “ladder of participation” with eight levels, or rungs, corresponding to increasing degrees of citizens' power in decision making. At the bottom of the ladder are two rungs, Manipulation and Therapy, which Arnstein categorized as Nonparticipation. The middle rungs 3, 4 and 5, identified respectively as Informing, Consultation and Placation, belong to the category of Tokenism. At the top of the ladder, rungs 6, 7 and 8 correspond to Partnership, Delegated Power and Citizen Control respectively and are classified as Citizen Power. The higher up the ladder an instance of citizen participation can be placed, the more citizens can be sure that their opinions will be integrated into decision making and applied in the interest of their community. As Arnstein herself pointed out, the eight-rung ladder is a simplification and should not be considered exhaustive, but it nonetheless illustrates the significant gradations of citizen participation (Arnstein, 1969).

Citizen participation should be distinguished from public involvement. While the concepts overlap, the former is broader in scope than the latter. Public involvement has gained importance since the late 1970s. Several of its objectives tend towards values other than the sharing of power and decision making with ordinary people (Rowe and Frewer, 2005; André et al. 2006, 2010). The key methods used for public involvement are public communication, public consultation and public participation. If, as specified at the outset, citizen participation includes power sharing and influence over major decisions in a community, this participation is situated in the upper rungs of Arnstein's ladder[4] and corresponds to true public involvement as described by Gauvin and Abelson (2006).[5] Furthermore, public involvement is often defined as the action of taking part in collective decisions within a government, a public institution or a civil society organization (Thibault, Lequin and Tremblay, 2000). According to this definition, public involvement does not encompass forms of citizen participation, such as voting in elections, class actions and public demonstrations, through which people seek to influence a decision. Citizen participation thus goes farther than simply taking part in decision making within formal participatory mechanisms.

Despite all the positive values associated with citizen participation, its implementation raises a number of issues. With cynicism towards leaders on the rise and voter turnout generally declining, the limitations of representative government are coming more clearly into view, some authors have argued (Rosenvallon, 2008). Citizen participation is one avenue in the search for a democratic model that involves ordinary people more closely and, in this sense, approaches something like participatory democracy. Both locally and internationally, the concept has a central and ever-growing role in development agendas, notably in those of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund; citizen participation is being used as a tool. However, as emphasized by McEwan (2005), policies constructed around citizen participation can produce ambiguous results. It is possible, for example, that more radical manifestations of citizen involvement are not accepted as participation. In this way, official practices of citizen participation may lead to new forms of governmentality, to use Foucault's term. Participatory processes may well end up strengthening the position of the vocal few in a society and marginalizing the poorest (McEwan, 2005, p. 8). In light of this observation, policies promoting citizen participation should not be viewed as a panacea for redressing a democratic deficit. Attention should also be given to forms of political action that exist outside official instances in which citizens can express themselves.

What are the strengths and weaknesses of current mechanisms of citizen participation? How does citizen participation fit in with representative democracy? What constitutes an effective process of citizen participation, and how should it be assessed? These are some of questions that remain to be answered by today's researchers.

Bibliography

André, P. et al. (2006). Participation publique : principes internationaux pour une meilleure pratique, Publication spéciale, Série no. 4, Fargo (ND): International Association for Impact Assessment.

Arnstein, S. R. (1969). “A Ladder of Citizen Participation,” Journal of American Institute of Planners, vol. 35, no. 4, pp. 216-224.

Blondiaux, L. (2007). “La démocratie participative, sous conditions et malgré tout. Un plaidoyer paradoxal en faveur de l'innovation démocratique,” Mouvements, no. 50, pp. 118-129, www.adels.org/edition/Blondiaux_Mouvements_07.pdf (last retrieved in September 2010).

Compact Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (1971). Oxford, Oxford University Press.

Cunningham, J. V. (1972). “Citizen Participation in Public Affairs,” Public Administration Review, vol. 32, Special Issue: Curriculum Essays on Citizens, Politics, and Administration in Urban Neighborhoods, pp. 589-602.

Gauvin, F.-P. and J. Abelson (2006). Fiche d'information sur la participation publique, Conseil canadien de la santé. (English version: Primer on Public Involvement, Health Council of Canada).

Hardina, D. (2008). “Citizen Participation,” in T. Mizrahi and L. E. Davis, Encyclopedia of Social Work, National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, (e-reference edition), www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com/entry?entry=t203.e57, (last retrieved in September 2010).

Krause, E. A. (1968). “Functions of a Bureaucratic Ideology: ‘Citizen Participation,'” Social Problems, vol. 16, no. 2, pp. 129-143.

McEwan, C. (2005). “New Spaces of Citizenship? Rethinking Gendered Participation and Empowerment in South Africa,” Political Geography, vol. 24, no. 8, pp. 969-991.

Partoune, C. (2009). “Typologie de la participation, » in Tableau de bord “Participation et espaces publics - Pour un développement et une gestion concertée des espaces publics,” Recherche Topozym pour la Politique scientifique fédérale, partenariat Ulg (UGES), UCL (USEG), Institut d'Eco-pédagogie (IEP), Vormingplus Antwerpen, article 36.

Rosenvallon, P. (2008). La légitimité démocratique : impartialité, réflexivité, proximité. Paris, Seuil.

Rowe, G. and L. J. Frewer (2005). “A Typology of Public Engagement Mechanisms,” Science, Technology, & Human Values, vol. 30, no. 2, pp. 251-290.

Thibault, A., M. Lequin and M. Tremblay (2000). Cadre de référence de la participation publique (Démocratique, utile et crédible), proposé pour avis aux citoyens actifs du Québec, par le Groupe de travail sur la qualité de la participation publique formé à la suite du Forum sur le développement social, Gouvernement du Québec, Conseil de la santé et du bien-être.

Webster's Third New International Dictionary (1964). Springfield, G&C Merriam Company.


[1] When imposed by the state, citizen participation must be implemented through a bureaucracy; this leads Krause (1969) to speak of “'citizen participation' as a bureaucratic ideology.”

[2] For a discussion on the concept of ordinary persons, see Blondiaux (2007).

[3] This is in keeping with the recent sense given to citizen juries and citizens' assemblies.

[4] This corresponds to the third method defined by Rowe and Frewer as well (2005).

[5] The discussion in the Primer on Public Involvement by Gauvin and Abelson for the Health Council of Canada (2006) is largely based on Rowe and Frewer (2005).

_________________________

Reproduction
Reproduction in whole or part of the definitions contained in the Encyclopedic Dictionary of Public Administration is authorized, provided the source is acknowledged.

How to cite
André, P. with the collaboration of P. Martin and G. Lanmafankpotin (2012). “Citizen Participation,” in L. Côté and J.-F. Savard (eds.), Encyclopedic Dictionary of Public Administration, [online], www.dictionnaire.enap.ca

Legal deposit
Library and Archives Canada, 2012 | ISBN 978-2-923008-70-7 (Online)

Vous êtes ici : Dictionnaire > Index > Index par mot

Connexion
Participation citoyenne (Citizen Participation)

Pierre André, Professeur
Université de Montréal

pierre.andre@umontreal.ca
Avec la collaboration de Patricia Martin et Georges Lanmafankpotin

La participation citoyenne peut se définir comme un processus d'engagement obligatoire ou volontaire de personnes ordinaires, agissant seules ou au sein d'une organisation, en vue d'influer sur une décision portant sur des choix significatifs qui toucheront leur communauté. Cette participation peut avoir lieu ou non dans un cadre institutionnalisé et être organisée sous l'initiative des membres de la société civile (recours collectif, manifestation, comités de citoyens) ou des décideurs (référendum, commission parlementaire, médiation).

Cette brève définition inclut des contextes variés dans lesquels la participation peut s'exercer. Ainsi, les dispositifs institutionnalisés obligatoires sont juridiquement définis et obligent les personnes à participer, à défaut de quoi elles sont passibles de sanctions généralement appliquées sous forme d'amende ou d'emprisonnement. Par exemple, c'est le cas, sous plusieurs juridictions, des élections, des référendums, des sommations à comparaître et des recensements. Les dispositifs institutionnalisés volontaires sont juridiquement ou administrativement définis et invitent les personnes à participer, tout en les laissant libres de le faire. C'est le cas, par exemple, des commissions parlementaires, des débats publics, des commissions d'enquête et des audiences publiques. Enfin, les dispositifs non institutionnalisés sont des formes moins rigides de participation que prennent des personnes, qu'il s'agisse d'individus, de groupes organisés ou de rassemblements spontanés. La participation au sein d'un comité de citoyens ou d'un groupe d'intérêt ou la manifestation en sont des exemples.

Selon son origine, le mot participation implique un engagement au dialogue, un certain partage du pouvoir. Du bas latin participatio, -onis, ce substantif serait apparu vers 1175 avec comme signification l'« action d'avoir part, de participer à » (Centre national de ressources textuelles et lexicales[1]). L'édition de 1694 du Dictionnaire de l'Académie française (1re éd.) la définit comme « la part qu'on a à quelque chose » ainsi que comme « la communication qu'on donne d'un événement, d'un dessein, d'un projet ». L'édition de 1762 de ce même dictionnaire (4e éd.) souligne que la participation signifie aussi « la connaissance qu'on nous a donnée d'une affaire, et la part que nous y avons eue ». Le Dictionnaire Larousse contemporain donne cinq définitions de la participation, dont sont retenues ici que les deux suivantes : action de participer à quelque chose, part prise à quelque chose et association des citoyens au pouvoir.

Mais qui sont les personnes visées par la participation citoyenne? Durant les années 1950-1960, ce concept apparaît aux États-Unis dans le cadre des programmes de renouvellement urbain et de lutte contre la pauvreté[2]. Cunningham (1972) reconnaît trois éléments définitoires essentiels : (1) des gens ordinaires[3], à savoir les membres de la communauté qui n'ont pas de sources formelles de pouvoir au-delà de leur nombre; (2) un pouvoir assumé par ces gens qui amène le groupe à penser et à agir dans le sens qu'ils pensent; (3) des décisions qui portent sur des choix significatifs et substantifs qui auront une influence sur la communauté. Ainsi, il définit la participation citoyenne comme « un processus dans lequel les gens ordinaires d'une communauté exercent le pouvoir sur des décisions relatives aux affaires générales de leur communauté ». Plus récemment, Hardina (2008) définit la participation citoyenne comme un processus d'implication des gens les plus démunis ou marginalisés dans les décisions qui concernent les services qu'ils reçoivent, que prennent ceux qui les représentent, nommément le gouvernement et les organisations à but non lucratif. Elle insiste sur l'effet bénéfique qu'apporte un contrôle local des décisions en réaction aux effets d'oppression économique et sociale que vivent ces groupes de personnes. Ainsi, la participation citoyenne réfère plus spécifiquement à celle des gens ordinaires, de ceux dont les sources de pouvoir sont limitées[4].

Le concept de participation citoyenne revêt, dans la pratique, de multiples connotations qui l'éloignent des caractéristiques définitoires de Cunningham et d'Hardina. Plusieurs auteurs ont regroupé les significations en catégories selon le degré d'engagement des citoyens dans le processus décisionnel, le sens du flux d'information entre les participants ou ceux qui en ont pris l'initiative. L'exemple désormais classique d'une typologie fondée sur le degré d'engagement des citoyens est le travail d'Arnstein (1969). Cette auteure suggère une échelle de la participation composée de huit échelons, croissant selon le degré d'engagement des citoyens au processus décisionnel. Au bas de l'échelle (échelons 1 et 2) figurent la manipulation et la thérapie, deux approches qu'elle catégorise comme de la « non-participation ». Aux échelons médians (échelons 3, 4 et 5), elle regroupe l'information, la consultation et la participation accessoire à des comités dans la catégorie « instrumentalisation » (tokenism). Au sommet de l'échelle (échelons 6, 7 et 8), se trouvent le partenariat, la délégation de pouvoir et le contrôle citoyen regroupés sous le vocable « pouvoir citoyen ». Plus la participation se situe en haut de l'échelle, plus les citoyens ont l'assurance que leur opinion sera intégrée à la décision et appliquée dans l'intérêt des communautés. Comme l'auteure le souligne, cette échelle, simplificatrice de la réalité et non exhaustive, illustre la polysémie de la participation citoyenne.

La participation citoyenne doit être distinguée de la participation publique, d'une part parce que ces deux concepts se chevauchent et d'autre part parce que la première est plus large que la seconde. L'expression participation publique a gagné en importance depuis la fin des années 1970. Plusieurs objectifs de la participation publique font en sorte qu'elle s'éloigne du partage de pouvoir et de la décision des gens ordinaires (Rowe et Frewer, 2005; André et autres, 2006 et 2010). Celle-ci inclut, sans s'y limiter, à la fois les dispositifs de communication publique, de consultation publique et de participation publique. Ainsi, comme il a été précisé, si la participation citoyenne inclut un partage du pouvoir et une influence sur les décisions majeures de la communauté, cette participation se situe clairement dans la catégorie supérieure d'Arnstein[5], celle de la véritable participation publique comme le soulignent Gauvin et Abelson (2006)[6]. Par ailleurs, la participation publique est souvent définie comme « l'action de prendre part aux décisions collectives au sein du gouvernement, d'une institution publique ou d'un organisme de la société civile » (Thibault, Lequin et Tremblay, 2000). La participation électorale, l'action collective et les manifestations publiques sont autant de formes de participation citoyenne en vue d'influencer une décision qui sont exclues de cette définition de la participation publique. Ainsi, la participation citoyenne comprend plus qu'une participation à une décision dans le cadre de dispositifs participatifs formels.

Malgré toute la valeur que la participation citoyenne revêt, sa pratique soulève plusieurs enjeux. Avec la croissance du cynisme envers les dirigeants et la baisse généralisée des taux de participation aux élections, les limites de la démocratie représentative sont mises en exergue par plusieurs (Rosenvallon, 2008). La participation citoyenne s'inscrit dans la recherche d'un modèle de démocratie plus près des citoyens, s'approchant en ce sens de la démocratie participative. Tant à l'échelle locale qu'internationale, ce concept occupe une place centrale et grandissante dans les agendas de développement, notamment dans ceux de la Banque mondiale et du Fonds monétaire international; la participation citoyenne s'instrumentalise. Pourtant, comme le soulignait McEwan (2005), les politiques construites autour de la participation citoyenne ont des effets ambigus. Il est possible, par exemple, que les formes les plus radicales de l'engagement citoyen ne soient pas considérées comme de la participation. En ce sens, les pratiques officielles de participation citoyenne peuvent conduire elles-mêmes, selon Foucault, à de nouvelles formes de « gouvernementalité ». Au final, les pratiques participatives risquent de renforcer la position de ceux qui ont le plus de voix dans la société, marginalisant les plus démunis (McEwan, 2005). À la lumière de ce constat, les politiques orientées vers la participation citoyenne ne doivent pas être vues comme une panacée pour combler le déficit démocratique. L'attention doit aussi être dirigée vers les formes d'action politique qui existent à l'extérieur des lieux officiels de l'expression de la citoyenneté.

Quelles sont les forces et les faiblesses des dispositifs récents de participation? Comment s'assurer que les gens ordinaires ont une réelle influence sur les décisions majeures? Comment articuler démocratie représentative et démocratie participative? Qu'est-ce qu'un processus de participation citoyenne efficace et comment l'évaluer? Voilà autant de questions sur lesquelles se penchent actuellement les chercheurs.

Bibliographie

André, P. et autres (2006). Participation publique : principes internationaux pour une meilleure pratique, Publication spéciale Série no 4, Fargo, USA, International Association for Impact Assessment.

Arnstein, S. R. (1969). « A Ladder of Citizen Participation », Journal of American Institute of Planners, vol. 35, no 4, p. 216-224.

Blondiaux, L. (2007). « La démocratie participative, sous conditions et malgré tout. Un plaidoyer paradoxal en faveur de l'innovation démocratique », Mouvements, no 50, p. 118-129, www.adels.org/edition/Blondiaux_Mouvements_07.pdf (page consultée en septembre 2010).

Cunningham, J. V. (1972). « Citizen Participation in Public Affairs », Public Administration Review, vol. 32, no spécial, p. 589-602.

Gauvin, P. et J. Abelson (2006). Fiche d'information sur la participation publique, Conseil canadien de la santé.

Hardina, D. (2008). « Citizen Participation », dans T. Mizrahi et L. E. Davis, Encyclopedia of Social Work, National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, (e-reference edition), www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com/entry?entry=t203.e57 (page consultée en septembre 2010).

Krause, E. A. (1968). « Functions of a Bureaucratic Ideology: “Citizen Participation” », Social Problems, vol. 16, n° 2, p. 129-143.

McEwan, C. (2005). « New Spaces of Citizenship? Rethinking Gendered Participation and Empowerment in South Africa », Political Geography, vol. 24, no. 8, p. 969-991.

Partoune, C. (2009). « Typologie de la participation », dans Tableau de bord « Participation et espaces publics - Pour un développement et une gestion concertée des espaces publics », Recherche Topozym pour la Politique scientifique fédérale, partenariat Ulg (UGES), UCL (USEG), Institut d'Eco-pédagogie (IEP), Vormingplus Antwerpen, article 36.

Rosenvallon, P. (2008). La légitimité démocratique : impartialité, réflexivité, proximité, Paris, Seuil.

Rowe, G. et L. J. Frewer (2005). « A Typology of Public Engagement Mechanisms », Science, Technology, & Human Values, vol. 30, no 2, p. 251-290.

Thibault, A., M. Lequin et M. Tremblay (2000). Cadre de référence de la participation publique (Démocratique, utile et crédible), proposé pour avis aux citoyens actifs du Québec, par le Groupe de travail sur la qualité de la participation publique formé à la suite du Forum sur le développement social, Gouvernement du Québec, Conseil de la santé et du bien-être.


[1] Certaines définitions renvoient aux affaires religieuses, d'autres aux affaires commerciales, d'autres enfin demeurent plus générales. Ici, ne sont présentées que les plus pertinentes qui se situent dans les définitions les plus générales.

[2] Imposée par l'État, la participation citoyenne devait être appliquée par la bureaucratie, ce qui a amené Krause (1968) à parler d'« idéologie bureaucratique de la participation citoyenne ».

[3] Arnstein utilise l'expression common amateurs. Pour une discussion de cette idée de personnes ordinaires ou lambda, voir Blondiaux (2007).

[4] Ceci rejoint le sens récent donné, par exemple, aux jurys de citoyens ou aux assemblées citoyennes.

[5] Celle-ci correspond également à la troisième catégorie définie par Rowe et Frewer (2005).

[6] La fiche d'information sur la participation publique produite pour le Conseil canadien de la santé par Gauvin et Abelson (2006) fait reposer une large part de sa discussion sur Rowe et Frewer (2005).

_________________________

Reproduction
La reproduction totale ou partielle des définitions du Dictionnaire encyclopédique de l'administration publique est autorisée, à condition d'en indiquer la source.

Pour citer
André, P., avec la collaboration de P. Martin et G. Lanmafankpotin (2012). « Participation citoyenne », dans L. Côté et J.-F. Savard (dir.), Le Dictionnaire encyclopédique de l'administration publique, [en ligne], www.dictionnaire.enap.ca

Dépôt légal
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, 2012 | ISBN 978-2-923008-70-7 (En ligne)

Vous êtes ici : Dictionnaire > Index > Index par mot